Developing Reactions

Many may remember me mentioning that when I was tearing apart the partialy built Garfield that I thought I may be allergic to something that was on it from the previous owners. My hands would itch and break out in hives. I also started the Authur at the same time and did not notice if it was causing the problem as well, since I already had the rash from the Garfield. The breaking out stopped as soon as the pieces were primed.

Well It seems that I was not alergic to something on the house. I started the Westville today. I really was suffering from lack of projects. I started to put it together and ...... OH MY the familiar itch returned.

I have been building house for a few years now and this is just starting, I think I may have developed an allergy to the plywood. I washed my hands, put some hydroctozone (sp?) cream on them and am now searching for the surgical gloves to finish assembling the walls. I may have to build in the future with gloves on untill the house is sealed. I will NOT let a little allergy stop me form the hobby I have come to love so much.

Melissa

Or if you know someone, get gloves that arent latex...You dont want to open ANOTHER can of worms if you have a latent latex allergy.

Hope you feel better soon! :)

If that's not an ad to seal all of each sheet of plywood before building, in your case, I don't know one. If you aren't also allergic to latex or the powder they put in them I get the 100-count boxes very cheap at Big Lots. There are polyvinyl gloves such as food service workers use if you can't hack latex.

Melissa -

Let us know how you do working with gloves. I hope that your allergy won't affect your breathing. That's always my main concern when working with smells. I have asthma and have to avoid breathing lots of chemicals. I used a spray bathroom cleaner a couple of weeks ago and had a severe reaction. Back to VIM.

-Susanne