Just joined, project is the Garfield 1:12. At the open box stage

Vickid

My first dollhouse was a brick 2 story, 9 room house in the mid 70s.  My bucket list actually was to do the Queen Ann house by Real Good Toys, but that has gone beyone my $$.  A couple of years ago, I made the Orchid House by Greenleaf.  Got a 2nd place ribbon for seniors at the Lancaster Fair.  The Garfield and the Beacon House - both by Greenleaf is waiting for me.  I am going the do the Garfield first.  I've been reading the warm up page and the directions.  I'm torn between finishing #2 Assembled & decorated  and method C.  Since i'm at the end of my 70s, which would be better?  I don't think I'm going to need to change the paper or carpet, or etc.

Any suggestions of what y'all have enjoyable in the method you used?  Winter is just starting so I'm not rushing this project. 

I'm a former nurse, volunteer with 4-H, Grange, Town boards and area groverment  boards.  I am also a dollmaker, weaver, knitter,  and quilter but this year, a house builder.  I live in NH USA

I have just made of list of what I need to purchase to get started.  

Edited by Vickid

Welcome to the little family, Vicki. I am also a former nurse, dollmaker, knitter, former quilter and as this year's birthday a 30-year dollhouse builder, and I will turn 80 in December.

If your instructions mention hot-melt glue, please use a good wood glue like Titebond instead.  Also pick up a couple of rolls of blue painter's tape to put the house together before you begin to glue (what we call the dry fit) because sometimes the tabs won't fit the slots exactly and may need sanding or shaving to fit better.  Also, I'm a visual learner and I find I understand the instructions better if I dry fit first.  Sometimes I let the house sit in dry fit whilst it tells me what it wants.  Once I start gluing I use a heavy duty staple gun to hold freshly glued parts together whilst the glue dries, in addition to the painter's tape.