Siding

Dick61045

I'm pretty new at this game but have been enjoying it alot. I have never applied clapboard siding before and just need to know if you apply it to the walls and paint them prior to assembling the house? Seems like it would be a pretty big task to try it after the house was constructed. :down:

I'm not sure what everyone else does but I always have my house built and all the trim on. If you are using the sheets, I'm not sure what you would do but I do them individually. If you would like to see pictures of the dollhouse I have just sided, take a look in My Blog under The Van Buren. You will probably have to scroll down a bit to get to the siding pictures. Maybe it might help you.

clapboard siding before and just need to know if you apply it to the walls and paint them prior to assembling the house?

The Westville was the first house I ever sided and the only problem I had siding it after construction, which I know better now, was to apply trim after siding (it doesn't always fit, being as how it adds to the thickness). Siding covers a multitude of sins that can occur during building, and there's nothing like assembling your walls & things don't line up/ match up (we will NOT discuss how I found this out...). It helps to draw parallel lines in the exterior walls before assembly to have a guide for where your siding will go, and if, when you do your dry-fit your lines all match up perfectly, then go for it! Some of us decorate before assembly, some during, some after it's built, and some (like me) do a combination of techniques.

I put my siding on after I had the shell built. I didn't prime the outside of the shell for the laurel part of my house. The primrose I did. Some of the siding I painted before I put on, some I painted after I applied. The latter looks better IMO. I used upholstrey tack strip (1/2" chipboard strips). It takes paint a little differently than wood.