Houston we have a problem...

Ms. Mini

Ok so this is my first time staining a house.. I just started today with the bottom floor of my willowcrest. and for some reason there are 3 very large stops on my floor that will not stain! everything else looks wonderful except these spots! i would take a pic with my digital camera but I let my mom borrow it for the weekend. Anyone have this problem before? Its a 1991 kit, so is it just the wood is old? any sort of tips would be a great help! thank u!

Oops! This sounds painful. I'm assuming this is the actual house floor and not a parquet or other wood add-on. Couple things could be going on here -- It's possibly a glue smear (impossible to stain) or could be a factory oil spot (unlikely, but possible), if the kit was opened previously something could have been splashed on it and even natural oils from your hands can prevent stain from taking.

Someone else might have a more brilliant idea but this is my solution:

Re-sand the entire floor with a fine grit sandpaper (furniture or finishing grade) giving special attention to the spots. Wipe it down with a tack cloth and LIGHTLY stain just the spots. If the stain takes, let the spots dry thoroughly, re-sand, wipe down and apply second coat of stain to the entire floor. This process could take several tries to be successful depending on what exactly caused the spots.

Now, if you find that the spots are still there, you can use an ultra fine coat of wood putty on the spots (just enough to cover ), let it dry thoroughly (at least 24 hours), then sand smooth with the rest of the floor, stain the spots and follow the above directions.

If this doesn't work, could you blame the dog?

im such an idot i just realized what it is. i was testing out this new waterbase sealer a week ago and didnt realize i used this piece of my house! AHH!! any idea how i can remove this? im going to try sanding it right now.