recommended sites

ouchouch

So we've all bought from online, right? Tools, supplies, furniture, accessories - you name it. I've had some bad experiences with oakridgehobbies. So much that I had to cancel one order and like a dummy I placed a new order which I don't even want to get into what's happening with that.

Reason for this post, give me some good sites(besides miniatures.com) with not just "you'll find everything here" but have items in stock and customer service knows what they're talking about.

Thanks.

I've also had excellent service from DHE/ Dolls' House Emporium ( www.dollshouse.com ), they offer free shipping (from England!) on orders over US$100 (not at all difficult when you look at all the goodies they have to offer) and ship so quickly I had my order within the week I'd placed my order! I've never had to use their customer service.

The Craft Club ( www.craft-club.com ), also English, is affiliated with Ashdown, the folks who publish American Miniaturist, has recently changed their catalogue but I have had most excellent service from them, I buy the Mini Mundus furniture kits from them, they also carry Heidi Ott dolls (but had them on clearance in the last catalogue I got) and a lot of nice merchandise. Again, I haven't had to deal with customer service; when there's an order glitch THEY notify ME & then go on to fix it in a very timely manner.

Micro-Mark has a wonderful range of tools and some supplies, they're a bit pricey, but better than your small local hobby shop (because that's who my local hobby shop orders from!). I got rotary tool router bits from Widget Supply

( www.widgetsupply.com ) but I've also found them at Harbor Freight. Widget has great prices & excellent service.

www.nesm.com is Northeastern Scale Model, Inc, and they have a mini lumber yeard as well as some really nice 1:12 scale laser-cut basswood furniture kits. Claire can tell you about the 1:144 house kits they carry.