My First Dollhouse

kim

This is my first time at the new forum! It's been awhile since I last visted.

Anyways, this is a little story about my first dollhouse and what has become of it.

I can't remember the name of the house......but it was a farmhouse. I built it about 10 years ago and it has been on display since it was finished (in a record WEEK!).

I had always wanted a dollhouse and loved miniatures since my neighbor introduced me to it back in 1976. She had a beautiful (extremely expensive) antique dollhouse that she had since she was a child (she was 62 at the time). It had been passed down to her and she had since added electricity and a few more expensive antiques.

It took awhile but I eventually came back to the craft. I loved this house for so long but my house was getting smaller with all of the additional projects I had going on (2 new large dollhouses and LOTS of 144th scale).

I don't have any children to pass this on to so I did the next best thing. I have wonderful neighbors who have the most FANTASTIC girls. They are little angels. The ages are 7 and 8. PERFECT AGE......that was the age I really wanted a dollhouse of my own. I couldn't have imagined a better home for my house. So about 3 weeks ago, I gave it away to two very happy little girls. Furniture and all! I've never seen such amazed and happy faces in my life!!!! It felt good! I do have a little seperation anxiety though.....keep looking over at the table it used to sit on as I'm working on my current project.

That will pass when I put my finished Pierce on it's turntable! :D

Here's a link to the pics!

http://community.webshots.com/user/tuckamuk

Kim

Hi There Kim!!! Welcome to our new community here!! :D I think that was a great story! Finished in a Week sounds wonderful to me! B) Those girls really received a treasure! How sweet of you! The Newberge is a wonderful house for little girls and Big ones too LOL :D .