Adobe Roombox

Kells

Here's the project I finally landed on. It doesn't require much to finish it off, just a lot of stucco. Like, a LOT of stucco. I've only done the back and sides so far and already gone through a container of it. I'm dreading tackling that fireplace, as it is affixed into position and isn't coming out! Everything else should be pretty easy.

All but the last two pics are "As Found." The last two show how the stucco is coming along. I've never used this product before but was happy with the test on the rear exterior (pictured below with the DAP container in front of it). I like the tan color it becomes once dry and may not paint it, or at least not the exterior. Not sure I want this rough of a finish on the interior though. I may use drywall compound to do the interior walls.

Here are the other two I've done.

Edited by Kells

I just realized I hadn't pointed out something interesting about the 3-room roombox. I got it from a young lady whose grandfather made it for her from scratch when she was a little girl.

What I find unique is that it is made entirely out of 3/4" thick wood. He sanded the edges to give it that rounded look of authentic adobe, which gives it a great effect, but the thickness of the wood also makes the whole thing incredibly heavy. It weighs a ton! I need my husband's help to flip it about to get to various surfaces. Wouldn't it be cool to have a whole adobe house made that way? Except you'd need a crane to move it!

19 minutes ago, Kells said:

That's true. Can foam board be sanded to get rounded edges? I've never used it.

Carved and/or sanded ... then coat with gesso and a skim coat of wallboard mud/Spackle

• Like 1

On 7/20/2021 at 5:01 PM, KathieB said:

Carved and/or sanded ... then coat with gesso and a skim coat of wallboard mud/Spackle

That is good to know, thank you!