Rugs?

Charlene

Ok, Mini Brain Trust -- I want to do an area rug to place over a hardwood floor -- this is for the room above my sportsbar (it's to be a paneled library room). I need a large oriental-style and I'm unable to find the size I need.

I know you can print out patterns on paper[backed fabric -- but has anyone done anything on thicker fabric or would linen work for a rug? I want it to look really cushy an dense. Any suggestions?

Charlene-

Have you seen my posts on Punchneedle embroidery? I love it. Very cushy and dense! It looks like a little deep pile rug. Really cute. Pretty easy to do after a little bit of practice.

I'm new at it. Haven't done any pattern printing yet. I've been experimenting. So far I've made a welcome mat with 22 count aida canvas and I'm working on a large rug for my lv rm. Plus I've done a little fiddeling with muslin .. ha ha I typed muslim first. Sorry. I'm funny in my own mind.

Anyway... I'm winging it, but I really like it and it might be your perect solution! Good luck!

Last year at the local mini show one of the sellers had a hand made oriental rug made of pulled bunka. I was really amazed at how plush and dense - and to scale it looked and it felt great too! I made a small rug using the same method - just a welcome mat but basically they're pretty easy to make - you just need to find all the colors of bunka you'll need for your pattern is all. It turns out looking quite a bit like the punch needle rug that Jamie did - only I think perhaps the punch needle rug might be a bit nicer just because it's actually punched instead of faux punched (glued bunka). I'd love to see one in person!

-David :p

Hi Wendy -- Your cross stitch is gorgeous! Tried it in the past and I'm afraid it just isn't for me -- I found it tedious so doing a rug in cross stitch is out for me :) 'Course that was in full size, so maybe I'd have the patience to do it in mini...it's a thought.

Hi Charlene,