Landscaping Tips?

hydroped

Hi all,

I mentioned in my Orchid blog that I've never done any mini landscaping before. So today after buying some dried flowers and leaning them against the Orchid I've decided I really sorta do like how they look :) but how to attach them to the base? I'm thinking because most of them will be sort of like trees... the way to do it is to drill a holein the base for each tree (the same size as the trunk) and then glue the tree's into the base? Does this sound about right? Are there any tips you might have to offer a new landscaper?

Thanks,

David :p

I use a hot glue gun and it works really well to hold the taller pieces in place. (a drop of glue on the side attached to the house for the taller pieces works well to keep them from toppling over) I've never drilled a hole in the base for any of them, but the pieces I've used have all been pretty thin. I used a large tree for the samurai house and made a base for it out of florist styrafoam and covered it with a rock wall and moss. But for the smaller pieces, you can just hot glue them to the base and the put ground cover around them with reindeer moss or tufts of grass. I've got a landscaping tutorial for the samurai house here if it would help any. I also landscaped the faerie house here. There's no tutorials for it but you can see where I used some tall ivy for large bushes on the back of the house. Those are just hot glued to the base and glue-tacked to the side of the house.

I was looking for the tutorial for Tracy's flower border class but couldn't find it. She had some great step by step pictures for landscaping.

Deb