How much sanding?

jerry325

I have started on my foundation. How much sanding do you do? I am just prepping the pieces and have close to 2 hours in them. Now, please note, that I am an amatuer woodworker and like to have the pieces glass like. I havent even been sanding them to that point, but is what I am doing overkill? Please advise! ;)

Thanks,

Kent

like to have the pieces glass like. I havent even been sanding them to that point

I wonder how much wood you'd have left if you sand 1/8" plywood that smooth? if you're not going to stain your wood, give it an even coat of gesso or spackle & sand that smooth, prime it & you should be good to go. When I want to stain, I do that first, sanding lightly between coats until I get the color I want, and then I seal it and when it's bone-dry I go over it with a piece of brown paper grocery sack until it feels like satin.

Well I am not sanding that much. I realize that it is 1/8" plywood and I am not taking much off - doesnt take much to remove the top layer of wood. The wood is still very rough to me, I am probably taking 10 swipes with 240 grit. But I am used to sanding 1X and 2X material with a power sander and using 2 to 3 different grits of paper (and that is after planing if needed) - that is what I meant by glass like. Thanks for the tip with the gesso/spackle thats what I was looking for! I am going to adjust my approach... hehe. ;)

Sorry I am such a newbie Havana!

Kent

Whew! For a moment there I had visions of orbital sanders gone wild. :lol:

The idea of sanding is to smooth splintered, uneven wood areas. Almost none of the wood will end up exposed when your house is complete. So light sanding is in order. As Holly said, staining needs to be done before coating with gesso if you plan to use it.

You'll be fine -- you just need to learn to think "small". ;)