Question from a Newbie-Oregon Trail-DuraCraft

matthsa

Hi everyone,

I have never built a dollhouse before but as I have been lurking I see I have come to the right place for help. I inherited from my mother's garage a Dura-Craft kit for the Oregon trail pioneer house. My 11 year old daughter and I are gearing up to put it together. I skimmed the instructions and have just a couple initial questions...

1. The instructions never seem to mention staining and I see the gigantic box of wooden sticks are not stainied and I think they should be in order to make it look more pioneer-like. Do I do that NOW or after I build it?????

2. It appears from the instructions that the majority of this house is kept together by glue. It says to use "tacky" glue. What sort of glue do you recommend? My mom sent along some Allene's Tacky Glue. Is that what I am supposed to use to keep this together for years????

Welcome Sarah!! :D You're right- this is a great site.Expect many answeres to your questions soon!! As to the glue?? I just ordered some tacky glue but I usually use plain

ole Elmer's Glue,and Elmer's Wood Glue and masking tape..always masking tape to hold stuff together for drying.Works great! Many kits will tell you to use a Glue gun..but many,many people here will tell you that after a while that glue gets too dry and brittle and stuff starts falling apart!! Phooey on that! After you make 5 posts you can start an album of your work!!! Believe me everyone loves checking out the "eye candy"Good luck on your project..sounds great! :) PS: I would probably paint/stain the cabin after it

was put up but I would paint/wall paper the inside before it was glued-just remember to mark what wall is what (inside/outside)-light pencil marks work!!

Welcome Sarah!