Anyone ever applied rock stencil compound?

debtingler

Help! I am new at this dollhouse thing and the directions say R&P which I'm told means "remove and prepare". Does that mean that I prepare the exterior walls now with the stone stencil compound or do I just sand? I have a book that suggests that you finish the walls prior to building but I have a fear that the effect will get messed up with all of the turning front to back.

I did a search and didn't find anything regarding this (but again I am new to this and maybe it was human error!).

Thanks for any suggestions!

Could you elaborate a little more about what product you are using? I have used Magic-ston quite a bit, which is a gritty powder that you mix with water, paint and glue. Then you apply it over a sticker stencil and peel up the sticker to reveal the lines between the "stones". Is that what you are talking about?

In any case, I would definitely apply any kind of exterior finish like that after assembly. Is it for a chimney?

Well, if we're talking about Magic-Ston, the guy who sold me my dollhouse told me to mix a lot of glue in it to make it hard. I tried it with and without the glue, and if you just use water, it crumbles very easily. So I mix it with a little water just to make it pasty, then add the paint color I want, and then a LOT of glue. I use Elmer's white glue. The important thing is to make it a pretty thick mixture. If it's too runny, it will seep under the sticker and ruin the effect.