First timer

woodinville guy

I purchased a magnolia kit to assemble with my 8 year old daughter. I am an experienced woodworker so I have some talent. Do you have any suggestions on how I should attack this kit with my daughter so it is a fun experience for both of us to assemble together? How long should I expect it to take us to assemble it?

Do I paint it prior to assembly?

Thanks,

Dave

Hello Dave! Welcome to the forum and to the magical world of miniatures! Since you have a background in woodworking, you're already a step ahead.

The folks here who have built a Magnolia will be able to give you a time frame for that house. I've done an Orchid in three weeks and a Pierce in six weeks but it depends on how much time you have to devote to it and how much detail you wish to put in it. (I sleep 8 hours, work 8 hours and devote the rest of my time to obsessing, er, I mean, working on minis.) :lol:

As for the painting and wallpapering, if you're not going to put electricity in the house, I highly recommend painting and wallpapering as you go. It's easier to detail the components individually than to try to fit adult hands into tiny places after it's assembled. (That's a matter of personal preference tho) Everyone has a different style and method of building a house so you'll get a variety of answers and lots of input to your question.

My preference is to prepare each piece as I go along. Do a dry fit first---put the house together with tape to make sure all the tabs and slots align, and in pencil, mark each piece where the walls and floor meet so there are guidelines for the wallpaper. It's a good time to shave any tabs and slots that might need a little coaxing to fit snugly, and to check for any warping.