Tipe for 1st Timer? & Installing Lighting?

Joanna1979

I am building my very first dollhouse with my daughter for her 5th birthday. Anyone have any tips for a first timer that may be helpful? I am trying to read through everyone's notes that have built the Arthur.

Also - does lighting have to be done before assembly, like wallpaper and flooring. Or is this something I can add later if I get really ambitious?

Thanks for any help you can give!!

Hi, I am a new member here. I have built (completed) two dollhouses. The first one I did not electrify for that was too scary....however, I did electrify my last one and it was quite simple. If you plan on electrifying your dollhouse, you must make a plan on where you want your outlets and run your wire accordingly prior to any painting or decorating. Once your wire is installed, then you can wallpaper/paint then lay your floors last. Of course I am no expert by any means, but right now I am working on the Glencroft and I am just getting ready to run the wiring for that. I have pre-painted the ceilings prior to the assemble for a smoother look inside.

I must admit that wiring was not nearly as difficult as I believed it would be. The house is just so warm and inviting when they are lit.

Have fun

Thanks for all the tips - so helpful!! I am still a little intimidated with the whole dollhouse thing! But it all seems like so much fun! I would like to try doing the wiring - hopefully the links you posted will help! I really hope my daughter will think that its fun - one its all done, anyway. If not, I may just have to play with the dollhouse myself! :lol: Thanks again!!!

Joanna, wiring is not nearly as difficult as you might think. Darrell's Electrical Superguide takes you through all the steps and there are pictures too!