Wood filler/caulking....help!

louanne

I had posted for the first time a couple of weeks ago, I am a newbie with a Fairfield I was going to put together but have decided to backtrack and get my feet wet by putting together the Greenleaf Village, which has also been lurking under my bed for about 10 years. My question is what is the best item to use for filling in all the pesky holes. I have been using Elmers wood filler, maybe I'm just wood filler challenged, but it just does not seem to go on that well.I have been applying it with my fingers because I have'nt found a tool that applies it well.It seems bumpy even after I smooth it out, and it seems like no matter how little I start with I end up with extra that keeps falling all over the place. I'm having a great time putting this village together, except for this part. (When I think of all the trim pieces the Fairfield will need wood filler on I'm cringing.) Does caulking work better? Or another type of filler? Any suggestions anyone?

I use spackle. When I open the container I always add a lil water and mix it so it is smooth (this is also suggested in the instructions). I also use my finger. I build it up. I put some in. Let it dry. Add some more. That way you get all the cracks filled. Once it is built up enough I do a last fill and smooth with finger. Then just sand. I dont really worry if it is a lil bumpy cause it is either going to be covered with siding, wallpaper, or flooring!

I hope that helps a lil. :D

:D I've used lots and lots of Elmer's woodfill -- the thatched cottage (it's in my gallery) is covered with it. Had no problems with lumps or bumps, but you need to use patience and just a little at a time as in thin coats -- also, you need fresh stuff 'cause it starts drying out as soon as the air hits it and it's darn near impossible to thin out. I used craft sticks to apply it.

My advice is to take Heidi's advice and use spackle instead. :wacko: