Glencroft beam snafu

jward

Hi there!

Back in October I purchased the Glencroft dollhouse as a birthday present for my 9-year old (why, oh why did she choose the Glencroft??). I started building, became completely overwhelmed and stopped cold (I'm also a graduate student and my particular brain couldn't manage both challenges at the same time). Since my classes have ended I have been working hard on the house and finding it very challenging, like it'll typically take me a few days plus consultation with husband (and others with excellent spatial thinking skills!) before I can understand what the instructions are actually asking me to do. Then, I found the Glencroft construction blog! I am so grateful to all of you who took the time to share your experience in such a detailed way; the photos have been especially helpful.

This brings me to my current problem:

Section B, part 5 of the instruction sheet refers to a particularly vexing "beam" (2A and 2B) that fits under the staircase.

1. It took me two days to figure out how to glue 2A and 2B together, no joke.

2. After having installed said beam, I panicked and thought I had installed it incorrectly, so I wrenched it out (very difficult after glue has dried, by the way) and ordered another sheet #16 from Greenleaf.

3. I then re-installed the beam in, what I thought was the correct way. THEN I discovered the wonderful Glencroft blog and SHEESH! who knew there was a third (and absolutely correct) way to install this beam! Thank you nutti and LindaP!!

4. Once again, I called Greenleaf (who's been great) and ordered yet another sheet #16.