Magnolia questions

Panda

My daughter is building her first dollhouse (age 11). And this is my first time too!

Questions. Do you really need to seal the wood?

Is it a ton easier to paint the pieces before assembly?

Hot glue isn't the best? We should should just use regular wood glue?

What is the best tool to cut the pieces out with?

What grade sandpaper?

What else should we ask/know before starting?

;)

Hi Panda --

Congratulations to you and your daughter on your Magnolia -- you'll both have a blast building and decorating it. :blink:

Most of the questions you ask boil down to personal preferences -- Sealing? Don't seal any surface you plan to stain -- stain won't work thru sealers -- some folks don't seal at all. Hot glue is pretty useless in mini -- most things just eventually fall off/apart, use a wood glue or a good pva glue. I paint after assembly (in 1:12), some folks paint before. You really shouldn't need anything to get the pieces out -- they're die cut so they should just pop out of the sheet. Use a fine-grade sandpaper but you only need to hit the rough or splintery areas since most of them will be covered when you're finished. The only thing I'd add is that if you plan to electrify, do it before you cover your walls. Read your tip sheet and just follow your assembly steps in the paperwork and you should be fine.

One addition: Do post pics so we can see your progress -- we love to ooh and awww. ;)

Hi Panda and welcome to the forum! The magnolia is a gorgeous house and you and your daughter will have a wonderful time building it.