Garfield noob questions

tp1

Let me first come clean and state that I'm a 28 year old male :p

I cant really say what compels me to want to build a doll house. I per fur to think of it as a model house LOL. Ive been building 12 scale model cars for about 11 years now so when I saw the Garfield It somehow compelled me to build it. Not just build it but build the Garfield to end all Garfields wood paneling and all.

Anyways Ive had my Garfield on order from flebay for about 3 weeks :angry: While waiting on my kit (which dragged on and on) Ive depleted the local hobby lobby of their doll house building supply. Well on to my questions now....

#1 Is the house a 1/12 scale or a 1"

#2 Would anyone have the exact measurement of the front door. Would a door 10" in height fit?

#3 I see many of you have installed hardwood floor before you installed your outer walls. Does the outer walls sit on top of the hardwood floors or must they mate up to them?

I also plan to add a gazebo to the top tower and I know I'm going to have to trash the stairway and outer porch. I have included a pic of the gazebo I plan to model after. Im thinking access will have to come from the lower floor Ill have to fabricate a staircase. I haven't made my mind up on the windows as really I haven't seen any I like. I really like the windows that come with the kit but unfortunately their of poor quality.

post-2278-1186930766_thumb.jpg

post-2278-1186930783_thumb.jpg

post-2278-1186930891_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

tp1,

I too am kit bashing a Garfiled, look below for my posting with some pics a few days ago.

#1. The Garfiled is 1" scale house

#2. A 10" door will not fit unless you raise the porch roof to make room. The ceiling heights are about 10.5" on the first floor and 9" on the second.

#3. Some of the outer walls do sit on the floors. I will install my flooring after I have completed the construction. - Especially since I am making changes as I go.