Hello everyone, I'm new

HalfPintRoo

Hello everbody! My name is Laura, I'm 22 years old and live in New York. I ordered my first Dollhouse (Duracraft Alexandria) and I'm very excited. It is arriving Tuesday.

Can someone post for me a simple list of tools/supplies to go out and buy so I'm all set to start Tuesday?

-Laura :D

Hi Laura! Welcome! I'm sure you'll get tons of helpful responses for a tool list. There are *so* many wonderfully helpful and extremely experienced folks here. I'd be lost without them.

I'm a newbie too.........just finished an Orchid and am starting on a Pierce. So I can give you the basic new-to-the-craft list and then I'll be taking notes along with you when the experts give their lists.

The two things that have been the most valuable to me so far are emery boards and various sizes of xacto blades. The emery boards just work better for me than sandpaper because I can control them easier when sanding edges and they seem to detail the little pieces and spaces like window trim and gingerbread better. I swiped a set of metal files from my hubby's workbench and the triangular shaped ones help square corners up in windows and doors. A sharp pair of fine point scissors such as embroidery scissors come in really handy and you definitely need tweezers, clamps and a large supply of painters masking tape. I picked up a tool kit at miniatures.com that included a mini miter box, saw, pinvise, drills and a few other things scaled for minis. That may have been an overly enthusiastic purchase, but I've used most of it. I get the feeling that I could have saved money by just buying the tools I needed individually, but it came in such a cool little wooden box! :D

It's nice to meet you Laura!

Deb

Welcome to our forum!

simple List....

a good xacto knife- extra blades

sand paper--I prefer a sanding sponge

Tacky glue- my preference

masking tape/painters tape big roll

clamps are nice

pencil for lableing

baggies for seperating parts into