Newly obsessed

Deb

Good Morning one and all!

My name is Deb and I've just recently become obsessed with miniatures. Okay, obsession may be too mild a term for it. I started the Orchid three weeks ago, finished it last night and tonight, I've got pieces of a Pierce spread all over my studio. Am I in the right place here??? B)

Usually, I'm a textile artist and it's occured to me that I can incorporate my art into the world of minis. I normally work with larger mediums, but I think I can find needles and fibers small enough to make rugs and wall hangings for the mini houses. I made my first mini rug last night (making the fringe was lots of fun!) and am getting ready to make a beaded curtain for the parlor door. I'll be making drapes soon and am concerned that the weave in regular fabrics may be too coarse for minis. Any words of advice or tips from the gurus here for working with fabrics on a mini scale?

I've always loved miniatures but even as a child, I never had a mini house. It must be true that it's never too late, because I'm having a wonderful time so far and it's got to just get better! I can also blame this on my husband since it was his idea. It came to him while he was huffing and puffing and dragging the couch to a new location in the living room and gasped out, "You know, this would be a lot easier if you just got a doll house to play with when you get the urge to play furniture-go-'round." So I did.

The Orchid is my "witches house".......not a haunted house style, just your ordinary "wise woman of the neighborhood" type of thing. There's tarot readings and a ouija board and crystal ball and cauldrons in the parlor and a frog in a rocking chair on the front porch reading the Wall Street Journal. (He must have once been an investment broker and gave some seriously *bad* investment advice!!) :D The Pierce is going to be a purely victorian venture but I had to exercise some whimsy with the Orchid since it was my experimental house.