Greetings!

I am new to this and am on a time-table to build "The Orchid" for my new granddaughters in Switzerland. What is the average build time for this house, understanding that I cannot actually assemble it until I arrive in Switzerland? I purchased the kit prior to our first time to see them. Unfortunately, at that time I was recovering from chemo and my dexterity was not good. It has improved and I think i can do it. (I'm a retired steel mill firefighter/volunteer firefighter/college professor.)

Thanks!

What a nice present for your granddaughters! Estimating an average time is difficult, as it all depends on the outcome you desire. Before you head for Switzerland, you may want to finish the pieces -- remove them from the sheets of plywood, sand, do any filling necessary, etc. -- Place them in multiple plastic bags of various sizes marked with what they are. You may also want to stain the floor pieces, give a prime coat to the walls, ceiling, and exterior after putting the house together in a dry fit (tape only, no glue) to see what colors/stains you want where. Then you can disassemble the house to paint or wallpaper it and pack flat for the trip. Assembly/gluing on site should not take more than a few hours. Really, most of the time is spent in the prep work. Good luck!

(This assumes you will not be electrifying it.)

Edited by KathieB
  • Like 1

Keep in mind that we are our own worst critics. Any flaws in the execution will likely not be noticed by anyone but you. 

Another hint: take pictures as you do the prep work. They will help remind you where pieces go when you work on the final assembly.