Need suggestions for first dollhouse kit.

Whereforart

Hi, I am new to this forum - and to dollhouse making.  I bought a kit decades ago for my daughter but never even started it (and have no idea where it is now), but now I want to make one for my granddaughter.  I'm a bit overwhelmed by everything out there, and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for a first time project. I've been sewing for over 50 years and have done a number of other crafts, like rug hooking, weaving, etc., but haven't put together anything like this.

Ideally, I'd like it to be a 3-story house, sort of Victorian in style, and sturdy.  I don't mind paying for something new (and frankly, would probably prefer it, as I would want to make sure all the pieces are there). I'm assuming Greenleaf houses are good. :)  Is there a difference between the laser-cut kits and others (aside from the look)?  And what is the difference between a $50-75 kit and a $200+ kit?  The quality of the building materials?  Or the size?  Or both?  

Thanks for any help you can give me!

Mardee

Welcome! As far as the Greenleaf kits go, the laser cut are much easier to put together because the wood doesn't require as much prep work. The laser cut houses tend to be more expensive than the die cut, but the main difference in price within Greenleaf's line is the size.

How old is your granddaughter? The Greenleaf houses can be made to be beautiful and we obviously love them here, but they're not as sturdy for small children as something made out of MDF or cabinet grade plywood.

• Like 1

10 minutes ago, fov said:

How old is your granddaughter? The Greenleaf houses can be made to be beautiful and we obviously love them here, but they're not as sturdy for small children as something made out of MDF or cabinet grade plywood.