Tips for a stone floor (was: Beacon Hill dollhouse)

Sanborne

Hi Everyone:

I haven't been on here for a while; I am still building the Beacon Hill dollhouse.  This is my first build.  I was thinking of using a stone floor in the Beacon Hill kitchen.  I was wondering if anyone having these thoughts on that idea.  I know I have to add in the wall in the bay window.  Would it be difficult to put  the wall and bay window in with the stone floor?  Of course I would be careful to keep the stones away from the slots that the tabs have to go into.  Any thoughts?  

Thank you in advance.  

Edited by fov
Edited title to be more descriptive

I'd think about using egg carton stones as they will have a lower profile than real stones and yet look "real". Or use a piece of real vinyl tile and carve the grooves with a V-shaped carving chisel, then paint.

Thank you everyone.  Havanaholly those floors look great.  KathieB egg cartons, very creative idea.  I bought brown cut stone veneer from miniatures.com.  They are very pretty but I was wondering if they would be too thick or high. I will have to give it some thought.  When I finally finished the house I will try and post pictures, I'm a little computer challenged.  Thanks again

10 minutes ago, Sanborne said:

I bought brown cut stone veneer from miniatures.com.  They are very pretty but I was wondering if they would be too thick or high.

The veneer stones are perfect for foundations but will not work for flooring. The thickness varies too much. You'd end up with an extremely uneven floor that would look pretty bad in an indoor room. Greenleaf sells mini vinyl tiles already finished and cut into 1" x 1" squares. One bag covers 288 sq. in. and they're on sale right now for a bargain $9.95. Listen to me, I sound like a Greenleaf sales rep, lol.

https://shop.greenleafdollhouses.com/miniature-scale-vinyl-floor-tiles-brown/