Hello hello!

Hi everyone!

I'm very new to this hobby, but I was recently gifted a Duracraft Victorian Mansion (VM800) from my aunt. She got it as a gift in 1986 and never built it. I'm pretty into old houses and antique furniture but you can only do so much with your own home, you know? Plus my home is a Craftsman, so the dollhouse should be a fun opportunity to play with Victorian styles.

So far I've assembled all the siding and primed most of it (should finish the rest tonight). I feel confident about the house assembly, but the paint, wallpaper, and flooring are looking pretty daunting. There are a lot of decisions to make and my budget is really tight. I already spent my fun money for the month on glue, sandpaper, one of those right angle ruler things, and an exacto knife set. Hopefully I can get a lot of tips from here on how to make my own stuff and snag good deals for all the decorations and furniture.

Welcome Cayce,:wave:

For wallpaper, a cheaper alternative is scrapbook papers. They go on sale at the major craft stores all of the time...

I recommend this blog by Kris Comfort. It will inspire you to make your own furniture...http://1inchminisbykris.blogspot.com/

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Hi, welcome! 

You can make furniture yourself, potentially temporary bits which you can replace over time as funds allow. Just look at any little boxes and think - could that be a cupboard, bed, table or chair? Shallow boxes can have card shelves glued in, deeper ones can have cupboard doors drawn on, drape a piece of cloth (too small clothes?) over one as a comforter on a bed... 

• Thanks 1

Welcome to the little family, Cayce.  Didn't your kit come with flooring?  My first two kits were the Dura-Craft San Franciscan (the 555 version) and the Cambridge, and they both came with flooring strips.  Scrapbook paper makes for lovely affordable wallpaper and Dover publications has this:  5135lRZ5SDL._SX365_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg