First Dollhouse Custom Build - Materials????

OhioDad

Hello, everyone!  I'm in the early stages of planning a dollhouse build for my daughter's 5th birthday.  She has some very specific requests, haha... so, I'm looking to build it custom.  I'm an experienced woodworker (dressers, tables, a canoe, etc...) - so I'm not concerned with the construction aspect of it.  I'm confident(-ish) in that.  My question though is... what material should I use?  I see most purchased doors/windows (which I plan to buy) say they "fit standard 3/8" walls" ---- so what material are they using at 3/8"?  Ply?  MDF?  Other?  

Thanks in advance to anyone/everyone who can help a newbie out!  I'm excited to get started but would hate to jump-the-gun and end up with a house and no finishing materials to purchase!

Welcome to the forum! Either plywood or MDF would work. A lot of dollhouse kits are MDF but personally I think cabinet-grade plywood would be nicer and easier to work with.

Ryan, you are such a good guy to build this for your little princess!  Ibetcha that 3/8" plywood weighs a whole lot less than 3/8" MDF, besides being a whole lot easier to work with (I LOVE wood!).  The hubs and I used this book to build our eldest granddaughter her first dollhouse:  https://store.doverpublications.com/0486234932.html

Build Your Own Inexpensive Dollhouse

Thank you, fov & havanaholly!  Now, a follow-up... where do you find 3/8 or 11/32 MDF or plywood?  I’m having no luck... only the standard 1/4, 1/2, 3/4, etc.  Granted, I haven’t been out to the lumber yards or specialty shops - but online searches aren’t producing results.  I’m in Ohio (Columbus-area) - not some remote corner of a far-flung territory - so, I’d think it would exist here... but where?

Lowe's?  Home Depot?  I've found it those places.  Actually I've used those components with the Greenleaf kits (1/8" plywood) and shimmed the excess with scraps from the kit.

Edited by havanaholly