General question

SonyaReiser

I’ve been perusing topics and galleries and have noticed like on the mini swap that the newest post is years old...are miniaturists a disappearing breed?  I’m just getting started...I get so very disappointed when on Pinterest etc that people don’t really share knowledge, they tease and then send you their Etsy account. I get it but....I’m old school. My biggest problem is making that vital connection from idea to skill set. I know experience is the best master but does anyone know a great spot or site that does good tutorials? Ones that show how to best hold the tool start with basics and move up. I’m learning on my own slowly...so glad I do a lot of trash to treasure or “up cycling “ so when I screw up by trying to cut to deep I can just go back to my horde stash and get more. Admittedly I am aghast at the prices for materials.. just rambling...

Most of the online dollhouse forums I've belonged to over the years have gone for various reasons, but I've noticed that a lot of new people have gotten into the hobby since they've had to stay at home. I think the reason that posts on this site have slowed down so much is because earlier in the year they closed down to update the site to make it run better. It took longer than they planned because of glitches they ran into, I guess, plus the whole covid thing probably impacted it too. Anyway, it was offline for at least a couple of months, and when we regulars started drifting back, many others just never returned, and when postings slow down, new people don't see any point in joining either. There's a lot of good info here, but now you have to do searches for it. Hmmm....I don't feel like starting a new miniature project right now, and I did just get a new laptop (my other one died without warning about a week before Xmas)

Edited by grazhina