Hi there! I am very new to the miniature world. I have always adored dollhouses, however, I don’t own one yet because I know how heartbroken I would be if a kiddo or a pet damaged it in some way.

Recently, my 10 year old daughter decided we should build miniature boats for her snail friends. I wanted to build something better than just a simple “Huck Finn” type raft, so I got online and found a how to for a simple boat and the build, which should have taken an hour or so, has become over a week of fabricating parts, deciding that the original design was garbage and starting over, and completely falling in love with the process! I’ve even enjoyed the problem solving of pieces that don’t quite fit together and need tiny cuts and adjustments. It has now become more of a ship replica than just a kids’ craft stick boat. This got my creative juices flowing and I got curious about what else I could build. I have tons of ideas now and want to learn more about building from scratch. I am ecstatic to find this forum and the wealth of information here! 

Welcome Kristi,:wave:

Are you going to design your own house or work from plans?

I enjoy building more so than any other part of miniatures, but I haven't done a scratch build. Do you fancy any kits to get your feet wet, or are you going straight to the scratch build?

Hi Syiera,