Hello from Ontario, Canada

Moushumi

Hi:

My daughter recently gifted me the McKinley Greenleaf, and I am so excited to embark on this adventure. I've never done anything like this before, so am a little nervous. At 54, to take up this project seems a bit daunting. I'm hoping to learn from all of you, and hopefully will be able to complete this lovely Victorian!

Welcome to the little family, Moushumi.  There's a building blog for the McKinley in the "Blogs" section in the middle of the upper left tool bar (reading this you're in the "Browse" part).  I strongly recommend doing a preliminary build using masking or painters' tape before you glue, to get everything to fit together nicely; especially the drawers (I still ended up rubbing bar soap over the top edges of the drawers).

Thank you for your welcome! I certainly plan to do as you say, a 'drybuild', it's called, I believe. I am checking out the Blogs section as well. I will have many questions as I begin my actual building. Looking forward to a great time.

Cheers.

• 1 month later...

Welcome to the little family, Moushumi.

49 minutes ago, Moushumi said:

Hi: just a quick question re the McKinley house. For the roof, can I paint it with acrylic paint? Do I have to gesso it first? Thanks so much.

You can use any interior latex/ emulsion paint to prime the wood with, or a clear sealer, if you're going with a smooth painted roof.  If you're going to shingle or use some other roof treatment, sealing/ priming with a dark color might be an idea.  What kind of effect are you going for?

Thank you for replying, Holly. This is the first time I'm building a dollhouse, so I want to keep it simple! I could wallpaper the roof, or just paint it. So, here's a plan - I will first gesso the roof, and then use acrylic paint. Does that sound ok?

• 2 weeks later...