N.A.M.E.

Lani

I was a member and attended a national house party in Kansas City some years ago. As a newbie, I was totally embarrassed. Nowhere in the info did it say that it was customary to bring small items to exchange with the other 7 members at your table at the big dinner. I was caught empty-handed and was not made to feel welcome. I never bothered renewing my membership.

• Like 2

I personally am not, but I do plan to join. If you’re interested in going to local club meetings sometimes they require you to be a member. There is an active club in my new area and I can’t wait to try it out. I don’t have to join NAME to attend but it’s a NAME club so I will just to feel legit lol. 

• Like 1

- If you were not planning on attending meetings, I’m not sure it would be worth bothering about. Unless you wanted to start a business or offer sales, being a member of NAME gives a good impression to customers. Although a mini business I am currently in the middle of a nightmarish sales experience with -long story- is a NAME member and that apparently means nothing as far as ethical business practices. 

• Like 1

Thank you, everyone, for replying.  I'm so sorry for the bad experiences you have had.  I have just joined NAME and their Facebook page.  There is no local chapter near my home but they said I could start one and have been really supportive.  I'm not particularly interested in their events but would very much like to connect in person with other miniature enthusiasts.  If I can get 5 interested people for a club in Tacoma, WA, I can start the local club.  If I do, everyone will be made to feel welcome!  If any of you are interested, please let me know.  I noticed that one group is still meeting - outdoors, six feet apart and wearing masks.  I love that!