New and wondering how best to get set up?

ellyssa

Hi Everyone,

I'm new and super excited and a little overwhelmed.  My Beacon Hill kit just arrived and I've never done anything like this before.  I'd love some tips as to how to get set up as far as the workspace.  For example, should I get a piece of plywood to build this on and if so what size is recommended? Are there any suggestions for a table I could buy maybe at home depot, etc. that would be a good workspace for this?  What does everyone else do to prepare for this type of build?  Thanks!

Best,

Ellyssa

Welcome Ellyssa!!!

Any sturdy table will do. Do you have a folding table put away somewhere? I suggest carving out a space for yourself that you don't have to put away all the time. This allows you to work whenever the mood strikes you. Some people use their dining room table.

At the beginning you only need sandpaper, painter's tape and a craft knife since you should be doing the dry fit. Make a mental plan on how you are going to stay organized.:wave:

• Like 1

Welcome to the little family, Ellyssa.  In our old house I had a teensy little sun room off of our bedroom and I built on top of an old desk.  The hubs eventually made me a shortie workbench with no top and I used a piece of 1/4" plywood for the build that I later et the house on and landscaped.  We moved and he built me a workshop and I'm using the top off our old RV dinette table on the shortie workbench, plus I have an actual workbench from Harbor Freight to build furniture.  Not all of my houses have landscaped bases; I got carried away with the farmhouse and made a farmyard for it.

• Like 1