vbharrington

While I have always been a lover of miniatures, I am new to building dollhouses.  In fact, my first build, The Orchid is only in the "priming" stage.  However, I have the opportunity to purchase a Duracraft San Franciscan (open box, but the seller assures me all pieces are there) for $100.  I honestly don't know if this is a good deal or not.  I have seen this same house selling on ebay for twice as much, but I'm not familiar with the Duracraft brand to know if this would be worth the investment.  I have my eye on a Real Good Toys house for my second build, but this one is significantly less expensive.  Can someone tell me 1 - is this kit worth the money, 2 - are Duracraft houses much harder to build than RGT?  Thank you in advance!

Duracraft has been out of business for quite some time so if you have a problem with missing or broken parts then you may have a bit of a problem. ALL sellers assure that ALL the parts are there but the truth often lies somewhere else. Not saying they are deliberately lying but unless you break it down and compare all parts with the schematics you really can't be sure. I have made a Duracraft house before and it is a bit more complicated that the Orchid. As you are pretty new to this I would personally recommend a new kit as that way you are assured of having all the parts and if not for some reason you can get them quite easily. If you have a masochist side and want to try something new then by all means go for it! You pays your money and you takes your chances!

I have a Duracraft Sweetheart and Alexandria built and another Sweetheart still in a box and have loved mine. The SW is much smaller of course but the Alexandria is huge!  I liked their products. 

Several here have built the SF and they are beautiful when completed. 

All that said, remember it's buyer beware when you purchase an open box kit. If the seller isn't familiar with miniatures, they may not even recognize if the parts are there or not.