Working on my Beacon Hill Dollhouse

shabbychic

Hi. Always wanted a dollhouse and finally I have a beautiful Beacon Hill Dollhouse. Most of it is finished but I want to turn the attic into either an observation tower, artist studio or perhaps a very feminine boudoir. Would love any ideas you have.post-64709-0-59750200-1419731791_thumb.jpost-64709-0-10295000-1419731834_thumb.j

• Like 1

Very nice color selections. Very chic and I sense a touch of a Parisian look combined.

I'm into astronomy, so I'd vote for the observatory first.

The artist studio would be my second choice because I am an artist.

Unfortunately the femme look I'm not so good at figuring out. I'm a tomboy type.

Someone else will have to jump in on that one.

Glad you've decided to join GL. We love pictures and love to gab all day about miniatures.

• Like 1

Thanks for the welcome Selkie. Really looking forward to becoming involved. I love shabby chic and French provincial although I am Australian so I like Federation style as well. I thought the Observation tower would be good although I am having trouble finding a large telescope that I can afford so I will have a go at making one myself. Cheers Deborah

• Like 1

Welcome to the forum. We are glad you are here. You have done a great job on your house.

I'd probably go with the observatory or artist studio.

What is your house asking for? Which idea does it like best? Many of us find that it goes easier if we let the house tell us what it wants.

Someone posted a tutorial for making a really lovely mini telescope. For a boudoir I'd gather a strip of lace into a circle to cover the window and have fun dressing a bed a la Williamson Walton-Marble or June Clinkscale, I once saw a tutorial for making bistro chair from a wire champagne cage that can be painted brass and trimmed with a tiny print and lace. Ornate buckles and jewelry findings can be incorporated with heavy card to make a froufrou vanity and mylar works well for mini mirrors.

• Like 2