New Here! Single Dad Of Autistic Girl.

Hello everyone. My name is Jason, I have just recently joined the GL forum after lurking for quite a while so i thought I would introduce myself. I'm a 38 year old single father of an 18 year old autistic girl names Jessie, it's just her and I.....my wife passed when Jess was a year old. Miniatures is something we share in together, and it's the only thing I have found for my daughter that will really keep her interest for any length of time, so I consider it a great hobby for us to have quality time. I (we) have built one small dollhouse so far, it's nothing special but what I could afford. My daughter, of course, wants a Queen Anne but it's not in the cards any time soon.

I dont know how much "mini" knowledge I have to share, I only have about a year worth of experience. However, I am a cabinet builder by trade and very proficient in SketcUp and CAD, and if anyone wants any advice in general woodworking I am more than happy to offer any knowledge I have.

Anyway, it's good to be here.....I dont "get out" much, so perhaps a forum of like minded people is just what I need.

Take Care,

Jason

• Like 5

Welcome to the fun,Jason! So glad your daughter and you have found such a wonderful hobby to share together! We have a lot of fun here and learn alot-together and from one another. Looking forward to your input and I'm so glad you've joined us! Kat

• Like 2

Welcome, Jason and Daughter!

Watch Craigslist for super great deals. Perhaps your Daughter would enjoy some rehabs. Maybe you will even find your Queen Anne that way.

Get active on the forum and enjoy it. It's all about fun, not who knows what. It all works out in the end.

Having worked one on one with more than one person with autism, I applaud you for finding this great hobby and enriching your Daughter's life this way. Some Dad's are true heroes.

Enjoy,

Morgan