Quick Question Please: Arthur and wallpaper

moonberry

My Arthur is coming along nicely. Yesterday I glued the foundation board pieces together (as per Gina's blog) and also the front back section underneath the ground floor piece.

I am about to start gluing the rest of the shell together,but before I do, it just struck me that it might be easier to glue wallpaper on all the bits while I can still dry them flat on the table with weights on top.

This is my first attempt at wallpapering and I am SUPER nervous!

I have to choose from my stash of scrapbook papers and wallpaper sample books - but I only have 2 hours this morning to work on it and I would appreciate any suggestions, if you are still awake and online!

hi lene

I know some people paste the paper on beforehand. for me I think I would not plan well enough and might not paper the right pieces. a room would have a wrong paper on a side. also the corners will show seams where the paper was not wrapped. you should not need to put weights on as you might with glueing other things. while you will see bubbles, they will disappear when dry. I remember being nervous about that. I believe Gina has a great tutorial on papering. I personally love wallpaper paste that you would use in your real house but other glues work well too.

good luck

• Like 1

Thanks Cynthia and Holly!

I'm busy reading Gina's wallpapering blog post now, but we don't get Yes Paste here and it will be very hard to find wallpapering paste, because the UAE doesn't exactly encourage people to do things for themselves. The maintenance companies that put up wallpaper, carry HUGE drums of the stuff around and it is mostly produced in China anyway.

Do you think I can use woodglue? I only have a small bottle of Tacky Glue and I want to keep that for the house joints instead of the wallpapering.