Help!!.....should I use joint compound on my house?

mininecessities

I have some joint compound..on the front it says one way to use it is to texture walls and ceilings........I used some to fill some cracks in my wood floor....and for the fun of it I started putting some on the side of the house. Hope I don't decide not to do it then have to worry about how to get it off.

Do people use this stuff on the outside of the house to look like stucco? I am not sure what kind of pattern to use......I just put it on then took the stick and made little raised areas in it.......like you would frosting.

I have NO idea what I am doing as I have never done this before. any of you that have done this could you give me hints and ideas .......or ha tell me how to do it LOL..

It seemed to me a cheap way to go......I don't have any siding and worry about using card stock.

I did do a search for ideas but seems so much other stuff comes up ...so thought I would start a thread.

thanks!

Cheryl .....

also if you have used it let me know if there are pics in your galleries of what it looks like. Will this make my house way too heavy? I plan to paint it when done also.

Joint compound has a tendency to crack - at least on real life houses, that's the stuff they use over drywall tape to join the drywall pieces together, seal the tape to the drywall to give it a uniform smooth look. Spackle or plaster of paris might be better choices, although all three will crack. It's not the stuff they use on the outside of RL houses to make stucco. Wasn't sure if you meant RL or dollhouse with that question - but definitely not outside RL homes. I'd go withthe spackle. The compound really needs to be sanded, and any high points (frosting swirls) will eventually get knocked off or cracked off, it's just not designed to be put on thickly.

I use spackle for plaster all the time, especially throughout all the pub's interior walls and the exterior walls upstairs:

gallery_8_151_53121.jpg