Managing your Library

drjones

Although I am a relative newbie, I am amassing quite a collection of books and magazines. I used to use an app on facebook called virtual bookshelf which allowed you to add books to your 'library' so you could keep track (I have a lot of books, I mean A LOT!).

Is anyone aware of this forum has something like that in the My content, or perhaps another website or app? I was thinking it would be nice to have something like that here so that members could keep track of what they have but perhaps also rate books in a more organized way than the book forum with the list of individual ratings. Thanks!

We have a pinned topic for 'book recommendations" under general Mini talk...I don't know of anything else we have, that has to do with books though. Im a member on a site called "good reads" but I don't go there much...it might be something like what youre referring to. I love my mini book collection...some books are definitely better than others...I love that you can find books about miniatures and dollhouses for less than a dollar on amazon...and Ive bought quite a few of mine for right around that price ;-)

I have bookcases in my craftroom FULL of all my craft books, two of them for my dhs & minis. The rest of our books are in four bookcases plus a bookshelf desk hutch in DH's office, two bookcases plus an etagere room divider full of books in our bedroom, and four bookcases plus the bottom shelf of our sofa table in the livingroom. Eventually when the workshop gets built (DH keeps insisting it WILL happen) there will be a rearrangement of bookcases. Many years ago we owned a bookstore, so our books are organized...