Hello From Tennessee

jshields67

Hello All! I am John from middle Tennessee and just ended up in the dollhouse business. My mother was showing me a dollhouse she re-finished just this past weekend. Then today my wife text me a picture of a dollhouse she found for $40 in a local online auction.

Turns out it is a Dura-Craft Marquam Hill Mansion. It has been through several owners as evidence of the tattered box suggest and the instructions are missing. An online search for instructions brought me here.

My three year old, Kinsey, is buzzing around the house like it is Christmas already. She has a smaller plastic house and she plays with it all the time, so I am sure she will enjoy this one when I am complete.

Since I am an engineer I tend to overdo things (I already have an idea to make a working 4" plasma for the living room) so I will need to remember the scope of the project! I look forward to doing this with my daughter and seeing her enjoy it for years to come.

I am sure I will have many questions about details and I thank all of you in advance.

John

Oh John, have you come to the right place. Most of the people here don't know what the word overdo means so you are in good company. If you don't believe me, check out the gallery of members' projects, and if you do the TV be sure to post instructions! :laugh:

Welcome aboard!

Welcome John!

My 4 year old is constantly hovering around my current house project. She can't decide between a dollhouse and a "doll castle", so I'm holding off on her build until she's a little older.

When it comes to miniatures, you can't "overdo" it. The more details, the better. If you want to save time on the TV, Ron's Miniatures in Orlando does sell a working TV with video player in dollhouse scale.