Crackle texture questions

fov

A while ago I got a jar of DecoArt crackle texture on clearance. (The jar looks like this.) Today I opened it for the first time and it's hard as a rock. The barrier that's supposed to go across the top (under the lid) to create a seal seems not to have been sealed tight. No wonder it was on clearance. :(

I've never used this stuff before, so I'm not sure what it's supposed to be like, but I'm assuming it should be paint-like and then harden as it dries. Is there anything I can do make it useable, add water maybe? I have no problem messing around with it since it seems like it'll be going in the trash otherwise, but I don't know what the consistency should be like (or if water would even help).

I've used a different brand, but they are water soluble; so there should be no harm in adding some water to see if you can get it to mix back up. It should be about the consistency of craft acrylic paint or wood glue.

As Pam mentioned there have been instructions floating around about how to make crackle finish using glues, might be worth a few test runs, if you can't water the crackle rock down :)

I exaggerated, it's not rock hard. (Well, I thought it was, but after I posted this I stuck my finger in it...) It was too hard to spread, though. The consistency of, say, a brick of cream cheese... that's spent a little time in the freezer. :p

I dug some out, added some water, and roughly painted it onto the furniture with a brush. It definitely didn't work like it was supposed to! It provided texture, but no crackle. I might have used it wrong though (and I'm pretty sure I used too much water).

When am I supposed to apply paint - immediately after applying the texture, or wait for it to dry first? I waited for it to dry and then started thinking -- too late -- that I should have applied the paint right away so it would pull away as the stuff underneath hardened...