Help! Newbie desperate...Ceilings spackled

averyfinewoman

Hello everyone, I'm brand new to houses, miniatures, and "E. all of the above". I purchased an assembled Duracraft vm800 victorian mansion from the sweetest lady who was legally blind, terminal with cancer, and had spent years building her house. It was assembled in the worst possible way, but it has such charm and character that I could not tear it down completely without destroying it.

I have repaired as many things (millions it seems) as possible. The main problem is that she spackled the ceilings after wiring, and now most of the fixtures have been broken,, and I can't get to the wiring to repair them.

Here is the million dollar question: Does anyone know of any way to get that stuff OFF the ceiling? or am I just going to have to go the LED way? I would do that, but I have fixated on doing a 1940's/1950's house (like my grandma's), so I'm having to build/create many things in it. I was hoping to use some of the original wiring, just because I guess. No logical reason.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks so much!

Suzi

*I will post pics of the rooms as they get closer to their destinations if anyone is interested.

Hi Suzi, and :welcome: to the forum. So sweet of you to try to rehab the house without gutting it, but those ceilings are really a challenge! Can you tap gently with a screwdriver or putty knife to crack the Spackle and break it off in small chunks? You may destroy the wiring in the process, but maybe not. If I were doing this, I'd want to replace it anyway, just because it is old. Even real life old house renovations get new wiring. I don't think you'd be insulting her memory by upgrading.

Thanks to all of you for responding, I appreciate the ideas and will surely attempt to utilize them, this forum will be helpful and much fun I think!