Hey, this is Carey from Jersey! :) and I'm a Noob.

Carey

Hey everyone,

I'm a college student/ aspiring actress who has been enamored with miniatures since I was old enough to toddle! My late godmother was an avid Greenleaf builder, and we bonded by sharing our miniatures. I would get so excited just to see pictures of the houses she would send, and even better was when she would send me oodles of furniture and dolls. :)

When I was a child, she sent me the Buttercup model in the mail to build with my family. My parents Just didn't have the time to sit and work with me on it, so I opened everything, tried to remove the pieces and set it all up as best as a child could on her own, and wound up ruining the set. I was so ashamed and heartbroken.

Now, more than a decade later, thank God a Hobby Lobby came to my area and I stopped dead in my tracks when I saw the houses section. I was in love again. I set out for another Buttercup and here I am! This is my first house. Im excited, but a little overwhelmed as well.

Would anyone mind telling me what supplies are absolutely essential for you when building? Anything that helps that is not listed in the instructions? I know the basics- sandpaper block, wood latex sealant, a good knife... But that's about it. I'm trying to come up with a nice shopping list to get started. Thanks if you can help.

I am very excited to meet you all!

Carey

Welcome to the forum Carey!

My "can't do without" includes the above, plus wood glue, fine grain sandpaper, razors (or a razor knife--I just can't use one of those without cutting myself!), various clamps and blue tape.

Carey, in the Gallery, there is a section where we've had team builds. If you will look through those pictures, you can see the various clamps and their uses. It's kinda hard to describe, LOL!