Can I cut my dollhouse in half? (It's huge!)

ooo

Can I cut (saw) my dollhouse in half?

It's huge.

It's from when I was a kid, but it's hard to move around. It's probably about 2 feet wide, and I want to make it more narrow-- more like a bookshelf dollhouse. I have zero experience in carpentry, but it seems like it could take the sawing if I nail the parts I'm about to saw.

It's a sturdy dollhouse-- I'm pretty sure I could sit on it now.

I want to cut the "extra" part of the rooms off. The side windows are far enough "in" that they would remain on the sides of the house. The front of the house and patio would still be there-- I would just cut it in half to make narrower rooms (or, a "skinnier" house that's about as wide as a bookshelf, instead of huge). So, same size if you're looking at the dollhouse straight on as the full front of the house is still there, just "skinnier."

But, city living and large dollhouses don't mix. It's too wide and can't fit in a car, and takes up a lot of floor space.

It's unfinished and unfurnished. Well, I once painted it with left-over white house paint, but that's all. I had all of the supplies as a kid, but never got around to finishing/starting the dollhouse-- back then I wanted to wait until I was older so I could design and furnish it "properly."

Could I cut it in half width-wise, leaving the front of the dollhouse, so the thing isn't so huge?

post-15442-0-61278900-1340366527_thumb.j

• Like 1

I tried to attach a photo to this post. It looks like it went through.

The dollhouse is almost as wide on the sides as it is wide across the front of the house.

It's heavy. I think the bottom of it might be heavy enough to support a "skinnier" width of a dollhouse if I were to saw or have it sawed it half.

I'm hoping to cut this in half and make it a more manageable size for the long-term, then decorate and start working on the house interior.