New Father building The Orchid near Memphis, TN

Hi everyone!

I look forward to using this great resource and listening to others advice. I'm a police officer in Memphis, TN and years ago I was a school resource officer and bought the Orchid kit at a school arts and crafts fundraising sale. At the time I was single, not dating, and no kids, so everyone thought I was nuts. But I felt very strongly that one day I would have a daughter.

Well fast forward and now I'm married and my first child was just born on Easter Sunday, a beautiful baby girl. It got me thinking about that kit again so I went and dug it out of my closet and I'm about to begin on it. I just went to the store and found myself reading labels on glue just to make sure I picked the right one. I ended up getting elmers wood glue max because it was water proof and stainable and it seems original Elmer's wood glue is not. It's amazing how much more thought and planning go into things when you have a child.

A baby changes everything.

I will document my progress on here and probably ask questions along the way. It will be slow going for me, I work three jobs (cops never make as much as people expect) so my off time is scarce and usually spent sleeping.

Well look forward to checking out other's posts and getting some ideas and getting this project done. And then off to building the next one. After all what little girl would only want one custom daddy built it doll house when she could have several.

Nicholas

——————————

Daddy Built It

Dear Daughter's Doating Dad Projects

Memphis, TN

Welcome to the little family, Nick, and as a former correctional nurse whose hubs used to work as a correctional officer at Raiford, I truly appreciate all you police folks do to keep us safe! I have built an Orchid or two. You are in for an addictive hobby, though; ad what little girl can be happier with a daddy-built house, unless it's two or three?