Newbie From Miami

mystic

Hello everyone, my name is Linda. I just received my first dollhouse, The Washington 2.0. Any advice will be greatly appreciated especially since the instructions are confusing and no picture illustrations. My husband is going to help putting it together but I still feel overwhelmed by all the pieces. He's already put together two walls and the base floor. He wants to use an electric sander so that it comes out nice and smooth. So that's where we are right now. ;)

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

HI Linda,

I'm new to this too, but I have put a couple of houses together. The one thing that I found that helps me is to do an inventory of the parts, reread the directions knowing what pieces are being talked about, and do dry fits first. Oh... and invest in wood putty.

You might be able to go online to see a picture of your house. More then likely you will find it on here all dolled up. There are plenty of AMAZING houses here.

Welcome to the little family, Linda & hubby. Read over the instructions with the schematics sheet in one hand, to see what the parts talked about look like. Use masking tape to put it together (what we call the dry fit) and see how it goes. Do NOT use hot glue to assemble the kit, carpenter's WOOD glue will work just fine. An electric sander? I tried mine on one of my houses and went back to using my sanding block and emeryboards; the electric sander seemed like overkill. A heavy-duty Stanley stapler works wonders for reinforcing connections.