Old kit Dura Craft house

pmsalmon

Hi everyone,

I am new to this exciting world of dollhouse construction and minis. As I see this is a mostly Greenleaf dollhouse forum, I hope someone can give me suggestions on my DuraCraft Tudor 1" scale. It was given to me and would not be my choice if I were to buy a kit, but hey it is a free start. It is to be used by my 4 yr old as a play house and I want it to last. That said the walls are all MDF or that type of material and I know many kits at least here appear to be plywood.

I will post pics as I go too.

My main question is; is MDF ok to use for a durable house? should I replace some of the integral walls/floor with plywood?

Next ? is should I pre-paint the walls before I fully assemble them? Either way I should prime them and paint them, is house latex ok to use or do I need special paint?

3rd to start with is glue. My instructions say wood glue for nearly all and model cement for windows and contact glue for the hardwood floors. I'm fine with these, but was wondering if there is something newer and better to use for all? Can I use wood glue for all? Is there fast dry wood glue or use super glue to help hold things together while the wood glue dries?

Thanks.

The old Dura Craft house called the "Tudor" was made of Plywood just like the Greenleaf kits are and yes, you can use MDF to remake parts (since dura craft is not out of business). What I have notice with MDF vs Playwood kits is that if a kid plays rough, it does not matter if it is made of MDF or plywood, the house is gonna come apart depending on how it is assembled and how rough the child is.

I personally like to paint and decorate the houses as I assemble it but some people do better after it is assembled. I say, do it the way that works best for you. If you are working with wood, I suggest using wood glue. I do use wood glue sometimes with the plastic window inserts though :lol: Hope that helps :wave: I can't wait to see your house!