Newbie Here!

Anette

Hello Everyone! I'm Annette and I'm from southern california. I've just joined the forums. I am also new to dollhouse making :) I haven't purchased my first dollhouse kit yet because I've been looking around town and it seems that no one carries them in my area. I might have to order it online. I'm thinking of buying the Primrose because I want to start off small. Any advice for a newbie?? Are there any must have supplies that I should go out and purchase??

WELCOME to the forum!

so glad you found us. lots of places online to order a kit from.

check out e-bay also.

you are getting ready to take a plunge into a very addictive hobby!

Have fun!

nutti

a newbie's toolbox

xacto knife with xtra blades---sharp knife works best

sandpaper---emery boards

tape---masking or painters tape works best

glue---several types available DO NOT USE HOT GLUE

pencil --for marking peices

baggies--keep small peices together till you need them

spackle for filling in the slots and tabs

clamps are nice---but you can be very creative with tape to hold things in place while gluing :)

those are the basic tools for the construction

for the decorating you will need

primer---kilz spray works nicely

brushes---

paint--- inside and out

stain--

wallpaper

flooring---if you do not stain the kit floor

for yourself you will need

bandaids---sharp blades cut skin

baby wipes ---makes keeping hands clean between steps easier.

Happy Building

nutti :)

Thanks for the list!!

I've always loved dollhouses but I didn't know they sold kits to make them. When I was a little girl my dad bought me this really huge dollhouse, I loved so much. Eventually we had to get rid of it when we moved. So it went to another little girls home. Now that I think about I wish I would of kept it because now that I'm older I could have done some great things with it.