OK I stopped lurking

jennybee

Afternoon everyone,

My name is Jenn and I’m new to the miniature dollhouse world.

I just purchased my first kit (the Buttercup) and it should be here this week. I’m really glad I came across your forum because there isn’t that much info down here where I live. Odd you say? I thought so too until I checked the local bookstores and they don’t carry anything- not even magazines. I did however find the dollhouse magazine but that was in a store an hour & ½ drive away. Haha

I did get our local library to borrow some books from other libraries which will help me a lot I think.

I have a question tho –

I had told someone that I purchased the Buttercup kit and they said it was a very hard first kit to do. They said the wood is very thin and can break easily. Is this true? I know many of you have built it and the Orchid which is from the same company. Don't get me wrong I don't mind a challenge and I have lots of patience but i was just wondering.

Many thanks,

Jenn

!WELCOME!

the buttercup is a nice starter kit.

it is a diecut slot and tab construction and although it is thinner than the mdf kits

you shouldnt have any breakage of the house part of the build...now when you get to punching the windows and trims out you could break some of that...but Im here to tell you that it usually can be fixed with some glue and a clamp. no big deal really.

its all a matter of personal preference.but if its for learning and trying new things the Buttercup is your best bet!

Im glad you found us!

nutti

:)

ps...I have built 2 Buttercups and I didnt find it a hard kit

it can be a very quick build.

have fun and dont forget to take photos!

Welcome to the Neighborhood Jenn!