Problem With Beacon Hill Stairs

There is something very quirky going on with my staircase. My treads are supposed to overlap by 1/8". My landings overlap perfectly, but the treads don't. Most treads don't overlap at all, and the few that do only overlap slightly, which just gives a "those don't fit" look. In addition to that, one of my landings isn't even cut into a perfect square. Add that to the fact that the wood is splitting around the edges on quite a few of the pieces, and I'm starting to get a bit concerned. The whole staircase is a disaster, and I'm not quite sure what to do. This is my first house, so I am an amateur, but it appears that a lot of the pieces aren't cut right to begin with. Has anyone else had this much of a problem with their stairs? Do I need to call Greenleaf with the problem? I haven't started my second floor staircase, so I don't know if I will have the same problem there. I am at the spot where all my risers are glued to the frame, but I haven't glued any treads yet.

One option I have considered is to just have stairs without the overlap, although that means I will have to cut and sand the landings back so it will be uniform. I was also considering a stair runner to begin with, so maybe that will cover up the mess. But before I consider that option, I need to make sure my second floor has the same issue.

Help!

Stacey

Hello,

Have not built the stairs, I decided to put readymade stairs in instead. They are the houseworks #7100 narrow staircase kit. The second floor fits perfect, height that is and the main floor will need an extra step added. YOu just have to adjust the openings to fit them, and then close up the extra portions that would have been used for the old staircase.

There is some pics of the beginning of my progress in my pic album. Im sure that if you dont go this way someone from the forum will be able to help, lots of nice beacons here.