Advice needed on Glencroft

Joeanna

Hello everyone,

I am new to this community. I just love all the information that all of you have shared about a vast array of subjects regarding miniature house building. All the info posted re: the Glencroft will be a huge help to me. They all are fantastic and beautiful. All this said--here is where I stand. I have taken my time to read as much as I can on the pros and cons of all the types of construction materials etc. and decided on the Glencroft because I love the style of the house and absolutely love detail ( I am a bobbin lacemaker).I have never built a house before but that is not a problem because I have a good understanding of construction and tools. I have built many other things previously. So here is my dilema. I have decided to use foam core on the interior of the house to make the walls more substantial and then I will use paperclay for the exterior stucco effect. Now I have the problem of lighting--I plan to never change the house once it is finished so round wire would not be a problemand I can imbed it in the foam core. If I use tape wire should I run it between the foam core and the plywood or just on the top of the foam core? I know there are many opinions on the type of wiring used. This is the only thing I worry about in the construction. I'm going out tomorrow to buy the wiring kit and would love some feedback as which way to proceed with the type of construction plan I am using. I have constructed a base which is wide enough to add a side garden and the base is on a lazy susan so there will be no problem with hiding the wiring or transformer.Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

Joeanna

I can't help with the wiring but I would say ( and you have probably already read this) make sure you finish the stair area before you put the outer wall on. It is very hard to get in there to do touch ups. The Glencroft is a beautiful house.

Oh and welcome!

Melanie,