New member from NH

I have been designing and building 1/12 scale furniture for many years. About two years ago I decided to attempt to design and build dollhouses. I am presently building the Harrison. At the same time I have started the Arthur. The Greenleaf Town is waiting in the wings. My preference in furniture is Shaker.

ANSWER TO SOME OF YOUR QUESTIONS:

I will answer your questions here. If there is some other place to answer, please let me know. I am still trying to understand the site.

The furniture that I build are exact replicas. I obtain full size patterns, redraw them in AutoCAD, Then I scale them to 1/12.

In some cases, if I like the particular piece of furniture, I will build the full size piece.

I try to stay away from kits. I find that the thickness of the wood is not to scale.

The thickness of the material is not uniform. The kits are usually pine or bass wood. I size all my own wood to the proper thicness and use different species (cherry, mahogany, oak etc.).

I also use mostise and tenon for the joints and finger joints for the drawers. Most kits use butt joints.

I have just purchased a digital camera. I will take pictures of some of my work and try to figure out how to post them.

Welcome Beaucraft!! I would love to see pictures of your work. Do you have any? Shaker styled furniture is nice. Most of the ones I have seen in the past were kits. Where do you get yours from or do you make it your self?

Hey, all!

I joined in May, and I'm just getting around to trying to post, etc

This sounds like such an exciting forum and I am anxious to participate.

Started minis about 2 years ago, when I bought a Duracraft Linfield. Once I completed that, (repalyed the video until I wore it out!!!), I found a Glencroft at a garage sale for $5 -still in the box!

I finished that too, then found a gazebo which needed re-fenced,shingled and landscaped.