Base for Lafayette

Terri

I have put many a base on my past dollhouses.....especially when they are the kit homes made of the thinner wood. helps the whole thing to stay sturdier.....sometimes it's like having a small yard or sidewalk to finish too!

Thanks for the reply Donna.

I would like to try my hand at landscaping - I have never done it before. I have purchased a roll of grass and some tiny stones for a sidewalk from a train hobby store. I think it will be fun and will make the house look more finished.

I think 5/8" thick will be good because the Lafayette is a pretty light weight house.

Terri

We put my farmhouse on 5/8 inch mvf. It weighs about 60 lbs, and has to have a sturdy base. DH and DS2 are going to build a bottom set of legs with casters on them and make a rolling table of it. Landscaping on top, a pretty molding on the edge, and you're ready to go! I have yet to build a house that I haven't put a base on, and for sure will with the lighter Greenleaf houses, for just the reason you mentioned. But I don't think they would have to be that thick, since they are relatively lightweight. But it sure can't hurt!

Terri...I usually put a base under all my projects. It really helps keep your house stable when you move it. I like to use 1/2" plywood, but often use whatever I happen to have. On one of my houses, I put a lazy susan under it so I could turn it easier & the plywood worked well for this.

Steve in PA

Thank you for all your help. The Lafayette is not very big or heavy so I think maybe 1/2" might be enough. How do you attach the house to the plywood...I always to use Aleen's glue for everything. Will that work?

5/8" plywood is pretty heavy duty. I generally use something thinner, but if that's what you have handy, it's more than adequate.

Turntables are great under dollhouses, don't know what I'd do without them.